LG Super Multi Blue, Cyberlink PowerDVD 7.3, and NVIDIA Issues – Resolved

Picture spending roughly one hundred dollars on a piece of equipment that you expect to perform as the device was intended. People who enjoy electronics often have this expectation. So we’re the ones who get infuriated the quickest when they don’t work out of the box, but we’re also the ones who take to the internet immediately to resolve their issues.

About a year ago, my blu-ray player stopped working. It worked at one point, then stopped. I was infuriated. Cyberlink PowerDVD 7.3 was acting up and it provided me with errors that had incoherent detailed explanations. I tried to troubleshoot by updating PowerDVD using their automated tool. This was a futile effort, and just made me more upset. It would download an automatic update and I’d get nowhere. Avoid this at all costs. Do any updating manually.

Today, with new confidence, I said I can fix anything on my computer. So I applied that confidence to this problem. Just update all of your relevant drivers. My hardware was fairly old (from ~2009) so my NVIDIA GTX 275 and blu-ray drive needed some updating. Because it was OEM, I resorted to the update for 7.3. You can check your version by clicking on the top left corner of the Cyberlink interactive screen.

I got my Cyberlink PowerDVD upgrade from here.

I got my NVIDIA driver update from here.

Doing either/or probably will not solve the problem. After you install each, restart. You should be good to go. If not, clearly the problem is something else, and you may have a difficult road ahead with Cyberlink support. Cyberlink PowerDVD is not as fun and easy as it should be, but once it’s working, who cares because you’re staring at cars exploding in blu-ray quality.

I am running Windows 7 64-bit with core i7 chip at 3.06 GHz.

Leave a Reply

